Director of the Khristianovich Institute of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics SB RAS, academician Vasily Mikhalovich Fomin

tel. (383) 330-85-34


Vasily M. Fomin is an academician, a Professor, a specialist in mathematical modeling in the field of continuum mechanics, the author and co-author of more than 250 scientific papers, including three monographs: "Supersonic two-phase flows under the condition of velocity nonequilibrium of particles" (1980), "Conjugate and unsteady problems of mechanics of reacting media" (1984), and "Shock wave processes in two-component and two-phase media" (1992). The main activity of V.M. Fomin's scientific research is the construction of physico-mathematical models of the shock wave processes of high-speed impact, the effect of detonation products on condensed media, and heterogeneous particle-laden flows, as applied to the problems of aerodynamics, detonation, and solid-propellant rocket engines.

Together with his colleagues, V.M. Fomin has constructed a theory of combined discontinuity and shock waves in particle-laden flows, developed a method of differential analyzer of shock waves on the basis of numerical data, proposed a method of decreasing the drag of objects in a supersonic flow by using a system of particles acting upon the bow shock wave, developed and justified a theory of pulse mechanism of bodies disintegration at high impact velocities, and developed a software complex that predicts the behavior of various constructions under extreme loading and put this method into practice in industrial research institutes and design bureaus of machine-building organizations. In 1990 V.M. Fomin was elected the Director of the Institute of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics SB RAS. He is a member of the National Committee on Theoretical and Applied Mechanics, a member of editorial boards of the "Journal of Applied Mechanics and Technical Physics" and "Thermophysics and Aeromechanics", and the deputy editor-in-chief of "Physical Mesomechanics". Since 1997 V.M. Fomin is the Chief Scientific Secretary of the Presidium of the Siberian Branch of the Russian Academy of Sciences.